The YB competition is for green variegated birds only. (Excluding self and foul non-fed classes.)

The competition runs throughout the show season at all specialist Yorkshire Canary Club shows, and those CBS shows awarded FULL PATRONAGE by the YCC.

The competition is FREE to enter.


The following prizes are presented to YB competition winners at the YCC AGM:

Winner: Engraved plaque and cheque for 20
Runner up: 12
Third place: 8

The same prizes are allocated in both Champion and Novice sections.


Up to THREE birds may be nominated at the time of submitting an entry to any specialist/full patronage shows.
Each entry shall be nominated YB on the entry form.
Any number of shows can be entered, but only the six highest overall results will be counted, per exhibitor.

The maximum number of points that can be gained at any show shall be 21 (3 birds x 7 points each)
The maximum number of points available over the entire competition is therefore 126 (6 shows x 21 points at each show)

Nominated exhibits will be awarded points for class placings as follows:

Entries per class1st2nd3rd4th5th6th7th

YB Competition Results 2009

Champion Winner

M Winfield

68 points

Mick Winfield

Novice Winner

D Rice

71 points

Dave Rice

Runner up

J Bannon

58 points

Jim Bannon

Runner up

T Glover

60 points

Tim Glover

Third place

H Chapman

50 points

Hilary Chapman

Third place

W Mayne

56 points

Bill Mayne